Ken Sharp

  • Ken Sharp's Newest Release: New Morning

About Ken Sharp

“I Wanna Be David Cassidy” by Ken Sharp, a new tribute song to the late ‘70s music and television icon, was released on November 25, 2017 as a digital single with a limited-edition vinyl 7-inch 45 RPM single also in the works.

“I’ve been a major fan of David Cassidy and The Partridge Family for 47 years and was so rocked and saddened by David’s sudden and tragic passing, I felt I needed to do something more than mourning his passing to honor his memory and what he meant to me. And then it came to me, write a song…While the girls wanted to be with David Cassidy, I wanted to be like him and ‘I Wanna Be David Cassidy’ captures my long-standing admiration for his enduring artistry.”

Penned and performed by Ken Sharp, the song was written on the day Cassidy passed away and was recorded over two marathon sessions at Reseda Ranch Studios in Reseda, CA and The Manor in Toluca Lake, CA. Produced by Ken Sharp and Fernando Perdomo (Dave Kerzner/Jakob Dylan/Linda Perhacs), the song features musical backing by Sharp, Perdomo and Rob Bonfiglio (Wanderlust/Wilson Philips).

“I Wanna Be David Cassidy” premiered worldwide on renowned DJ Rodney Bingenheimer’s radio show on Sirius XM’s “Underground Garage” the day after it was finished.

Sharp forged a friendship with Cassidy through the years, working with the artist on his 2007 autobiography, Could It Be Forever?: My Story, and co-penning liner notes for various Partridge Family releases, The Partridge Family Album, Up To Date, Sound Magazine and Shopping Bag, as well as contributing liner notes and interviews for Come On Get Happy: The Very Best of The Partridge Family. More recently, Ken and his band opened a show for David Cassidy in February 2017 at The Canyon Club in Agoura Hills, CA, which was one of the last shows Cassidy ever performed.

All proceeds from the single will be channeled to David’s charity of choice, The Alzheimer’s Association.

Ken Sharp’s latest album, New Mourning, is a 14-track song cycle navigating the beauty in darkness, loss, and regret. From the torrid power pop muscle of “Dynamite and Kerosene,” “Burn & Crash,” and “Bad News” to fragile intimate ballads (“1000 Guitars,” “Haunts Me,”) the album is a consummate sonic journey that leaves its share of musical blood on the tracks. “My co-producer Fernando Perdomo has described the record as ‘the feel bad album of the year, but in a good way,’” says Sharp, “and that’s an apt description. The darkness and emotional turmoil I‘ve gone through in the last few years is laid bare on the record.”

Produced by Fernando Perdomo and Ken Sharp, the record showcases musical contributions from Rick Springfield (“Burn & Crash”, “Satellite”), guitarist Wally Stocker of The Babys, bassist Prescott Niles of The Knack, and keyboardist Jimmy Waldo of New England, alongside the team of Perdomo and gifted musicians Rob Bonfiglio and Ritchie Rubini (The Caulfields).

New Mourning is Sharp’s fourth album and first in nine years. His previous CD, Sonic Crayons, received raves in USA Today and a four-star review in MOJO magazine with writer Mat Snow championing Sharp as a shining light in the world of power pop.

“With his new CD, Ken continues to explore the essence of power pop, this time, with a harder edge, and some fine guitar and vocal work from Rick Springfield. He’s also found a new depth and confidence in his lyric writing, his voice and his production on this new recording. It’s his best work yet!” – Eric Carmen

“New Mourning is a tour-de-force delivering perfectly blended driving guitar riffs with beautiful pop melodies. Highly recommended.” – Pat Prince/Goldmine Magazine

Ken Sharp is a New York Times Best Selling writer who has authored or co-authored over eighteen music books, contributes to a variety of national music magazines, works on music documentaries and has done liner notes for releases by Elvis Presley, Sly & the Family Stone, Janis Joplin, Small Faces, Santana, Cheap Trick, Raspberries, Eric Carmen, KISS, Hall & Oates, Rick Springfield, The Babys, John Waite, The Guess Who, Jellyfish, Jefferson Airplane and others.

His books include:

  • Dreamer: The Making of Dennis Wilson’s “Pacific Ocean Blue”
  • Starting Over: The Making of John Lennon and Yoko Ono’s Double Fantasy
  • Elvis: Vegas ’69
  • Nothin’ to Lose: the Making of KISS (1972-1975)
  • Elvis Presley: Writing for the King
  • Sound Explosion: Inside LA’s Studio Factory with the Wrecking Crew
  • Overnight Sensation: The Story of the Raspberries
  • Raspberries: TONIGHT!
  • Eric Carmen: Marathon Man
  • Reputation is a Fragile Thing: The Story of Cheap Trick
  • Play On!: Power Pop Heroes, volumes 1, 2, and 3
  • Kooks, Queen Bitches and Andy Warhol: The Making of David Bowie’s Hunky Dory
  • KISS: Behind the Mask
  • Meet the Beatles…Again!
  • Small Faces: Quite Naturally
  • Rick Springfield: A Year in the Life of a Working Class Dog
  • Power Pop, The KISS Years!
  • KISS Army Worldwide!: The Ultimate KISS Fanzine Phenomenon

Current Band Lineup:
Ken Sharp, lead vocals and guitar; Fernando Perdomo (The Dirty Diamond, Todd Rundgren, Jakob Dylan), drums & bv; Rob Bonfiglio (Wanderlust, Wilson Phillips), guitar & bv; and Prescott Niles (The Knack, Missing Persons), bass.

Social Links:

For Bookings / Info.
Please contact ACR Management: or call:  252-402-5395

Jetfighter Records and Sofa King Vinyl have partnered to release a limited 7-inch 45 RPM single of “I Wanna Be David Cassidy” b/w “Let’s Be Friends.” 100 copies need to be reserved for this pressing to happen. The release will be mastered for vinyl from the original 24-bit mixes and all who pre-order will get a download of both songs.
Pre-order Here!


HTML Snippets Powered By :

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This