Ken Sharp

  • Ken Sharp's Newest Release: New Morning

About Ken Sharp

Ken Sharp’s New Mourning is a 14-track song cycle navigating the beauty in darkness, loss, and regret. From the torrid power pop muscle of “Dynamite and Kerosene,” “Burn & Crash,” and “Bad News” to fragile intimate ballads (“1000 Guitars,” “Haunts Me,”) the album is a consummate sonic journey that leaves its share of musical blood on the tracks. “My co-producer Fernando Perdomo has described the record as ‘the feel bad album of the year, but in a good way,’” says Sharp, “and that’s an apt description. The darkness and emotional turmoil I‘ve gone through in the last few years is laid bare on the record.”

Produced by Fernando Perdomo (Todd Rundgren/Jakob Dylan) and Ken Sharp, the record showcases musical contributions from Rick Springfield (“Burn & Crash”, “Satellite”), guitarist Wally Stocker of The Babys, bassist Prescott Niles of The Knack, and keyboardist Jimmy Waldo of New England, alongside the team of Perdomo and gifted musicians Rob Bonfiglio (Wanderlust/Wilson Phillips) and Ritchie Rubini (The Caulfields).

New Mourning is Sharp’s fourth album and first in nine years. His last CD, Sonic Crayons, received raves in USA Today and a four-star review in MOJO magazine with writer Mat Snow championing Sharp as a shining light in the world of power pop.

“With his new CD, Ken continues to explore the essence of power pop, this time, with a harder edge, and some fine guitar and vocal work from Rick Springfield. He’s also found a new depth and confidence in his lyric writing, his voice and his production on this new recording. It’s his best work yet!” – Eric Carmen

“New Mourning is a tour-de-force delivering perfectly blended driving guitar riffs with beautiful pop melodies. Highly recommended.” – Pat Prince/Goldmine Magazine

Ken Sharp is a New York Times Best Selling writer who has authored or co-authored over eighteen music books, contributes to a variety of national music magazines, works on music documentaries and has done liner notes for releases by Elvis Presley, Sly & the Family Stone, Janis Joplin, Small Faces, Santana, Cheap Trick, Raspberries, Eric Carmen, KISS, Hall & Oates, Rick Springfield, The Babys, John Waite, The Guess Who, Jellyfish, Jefferson Airplane and others.

His books include:

  • Starting Over: The Making of John Lennon and Yoko Ono’s Double Fantasy
  • Elvis: Vegas ’69
  • Nothin’ to Lose: the Making of KISS (1972-1975)
  • Elvis Presley: Writing for the King
  • Sound Explosion: Inside LA’s Studio Factory with the Wrecking Crew
  • Overnight Sensation: The Story of the Raspberries
  • Raspberries: TONIGHT!
  • Eric Carmen: Marathon Man
  • Reputation is a Fragile Thing: The Story of Cheap Trick
  • Play On!: Power Pop Heroes, volumes 1, 2, and 3
  • Kooks, Queen Bitches and Andy Warhol: The Making of David Bowie’s Hunky Dory
  • KISS: Behind the Mask
  • Meet the Beatles…Again!
  • Small Faces: Quite Naturally
  • Rick Springfield: A Year in the Life of a Working Class Dog
  • Power Pop, The KISS Years!
  • KISS Army Worldwide!: The Ultimate KISS Fanzine Phenomenon

Current Band Lineup:
Ken Sharp, lead vocals and guitar; Fernando Perdomo (The Dirty Diamond, Todd Rundgren, Jakob Dylan), drums & bv; Rob Bonfiglio (Wanderlust, Wilson Phillips), guitar & bv; Prescott Niles (The Knack, Missing Persons), bass; and Paul Mouradjian on keyboards.

Social Links:

For Bookings / Info.
Please contact ACR Management: or call:  252-402-5395

Additional Links:


iTunes Store:
iTunes Store/

New Mourning Links:


iTunes (Digital)

Amazon (Digital)

Bandcamp (Digital)

New Mourning Press Release
Download Press Release (Word or PDF)
or Click Here to Read

Ken Sharp Band is opening for The Babys on Saturday, August 5 at Grand Oak Live!

Doors open at 5:00 PM. Dinner & drinks are included in ticket price. General Admission tickets are $45 if purchased before 7/29/17 ($55 after). No tickets at door. VIP tickets with Meet-and-Greet for The Babys available for only $75! PayPal (friends & family) to

The Ken Sharp Band is Ken Sharp (guitar, vocals), Rob Bonfiglio (guitar, backing vocals), Prescott Niles (bass), and Fernando Perdomo (drums, backing vocals).

Click here to view the Facebook event page!

HTML Snippets Powered By :

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This